The Tourism Business Council of South Africa is a non-profit, member driven organisation serving the needs of their members and focusing on the growth and the sustainability of the travel and tourism sector in South Africa.

They were established in February 1996 and are an enabling body that brings together industry stakeholders under a common umbrella to face and manage issues affecting the industry.

Partnerships are key to their success and they have close working relationships with organisations such as the National Department of Tourism and South African Tourism and Business Unity amongst other industry stakeholders.

The TBCSA Board is made up of various business leaders within the travel and tourism private sector which compromises of individuals who are influential industry leader in their own right.

We wish to congratulate Dries van Coller, representing PHASA, on being elected to the Board at their AGM on 21 June 2018.


This year’s TBCSA AGM was an election year for the Board. Below is a list of the newly elected Board of Directors for the period of 2018-2020;

Mr. Ravi Nadasen, Tsogo Sun
Mr. Lance Smith, AVIS
Mr. Alastair Dooley, City Lodge Hotel Group
Mr. Blacky Komani, Tourvest
Mr. Phillip Meyers, Protea Hotels by Marriott
Mr. Kobus Tait, Forever Resorts
Ms. Jane Edge, Fair Trade Tourism
Mr. Otto de Vries, ASATA
Mr. David Frost, SATSA
Mr. Tshifhiwa Tshivhengwa, FEDHASA
Ms. June Crawford, BARSA
Mr. Chris Zweigenthal, AASA
Mr. Dries van Coller, PHASA
Ms. Rudi van der Vyver, SAACI
Mr. Sandile Ntseoane, SAVRALA
Ms. Rosemarie van Staden, NAA-SA